The God Who Pursues

Some years ago the phrase “pursuing God” would kick me into a competitive and driven exercise in proving how passionate I was for God. There was also a genuine hunger for Him underneath that fleshly stuff in my heart. Even so, I was going to be the one who really pursued God.

As it turns out, I had it backwards.

These days I’m spending a lot of time staring at the sweet face of my newest grandson, memorizing it like I did my own children’s faces. I don’t think he realizes I exist, even if I’m holding him. At six weeks, he is not old enough to interact with me.

One day his eyes will be focused enough and he will hold his head up long enough and those gray gold brown eyes will meet mine and he will discover…someone is watching me.

face
This scenario comes closer to what it looks like when I pursue God.

And The Father loves it.

He loves it when I put down my distractions and stop whining about my discomfort and just look at Him. Before I think about stepping in His direction, He has already been following after my little toddler legs. He knows what I am made of, my weaknesses. But I am His treasure.

Jesus says this in Matthew 13:44:

The kingdom of heaven is like a treasure hidden in the field, which a man found and hid again; and from joy over it he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.

and in verse 45 & 46:

Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant seeking fine pearls, and upon finding one pearl of great value, he went and sold all that he had and bought it.

Jesus includes a third similar parable about fishing to explain what the Kingdom of God is like. We are what He is seeking, and pursuing.

These parables are typically used to demonstrate what our posture should be if we are serious about seeking God, and His Kingdom. And they are probably right. But I can’t forget that He loved me first.

That means He pursues me first.

Want another picture?
The Father who runs out to the prodigal son who has turned for home.
And…
God, who is walking heartbroken in the Garden, calling out to Adam, missing their time together.

Or how about the entire book of Hosea?

What motivates me to run after God these days is the awareness that He is the One who is running after me. The God who created the unmeasurable universe is watching me? Ohmygoodness, I want to get to know this God. What He sees in me must be different from what I’m seeing. Maybe He’ll even tell me what He’s thinking.

What does it look like when you pursue God?

Or when He pursues you?

*********************

Linking up with The High Calling this week, predictably at the last minute. Read the many wonderful things their writers have to say about “Work, life, and God.”

4 comments

  1. Oh my. Thank you so much for this reflection and for participating in our Linkup. Loved the part about your grandchild watching you. And the reminder that it was God who went on the walk in the Garden.

    David Rupert
    Community Editor
    The High Calling

Leave a Reply

