Place

Believe it or not, I have been logging lots of writing hours this summer, but as is the case with most of my writing and non-writing projects, nothing is finished.

This time I want to throw out a different idea for you to think about.  Not just think about, participate in!  I’ll tell you how in a minute.

It seems to me that when Jesus needed to get away from the crowds, His disciples, and the things that were pressing on Him, He had a place in mind.  It might not have been the same place each time.  It might not have been the same time of day.  But I think that the places He chose were on purpose.

Do you have a place like that?

After we moved out of the needy neighborhood that we had been ministering in off and on for 12 years, I reallllly felt the need for a place that I could go to, that would be my place, where I could be available should the Lord decide to speak to me.  It would be a place where I could shut everything out and just read the Bible, write, or talk to Him.  I no longer had my own office space since our current house is smaller.  So, I set up my “office” in a corner and tried to make it my own, even though it shares our dining area.  I still had my desk, a cute antique-ish one that my mom gave me.  Would that work?

Um, no.

It DOES work if I want to be distracted by cute pictures of my family and the things they have made for me, disappointed that I haven’t read the stack of books sitting to the side, frustrated by the lingering bills stuffed next to them, or nagged by the filing I have yet to do since……well, never mind.  You get the point.

I think that having a place is really important, but I also think it is sometimes really hard to get there.  It doesn’t have to be the same place, and it doesn’t have to be the same time or same day.  But the question is,

Am I on the way there?

The first picture is a great place….at my aunt and uncle’s house on the lake.  I love being there.  I just wish it wasn’t 6 hours away.  There are other places I can go, I have found. No matter where it is, it still takes some effort getting there.

So, here is where you can participate in this.  Take a picture like I did of a place you like to go to meet with the Lord.  Include your own coffee cup if you like, or your Bible, or whatever represents your time away with Him.  You are welcome to send it to me and I will post it on the blog, but please be sure to let me know if you would like your name/location included or not. You can send me pictures at  jencleveland888@gmail.com.

Hope to hear from you soon!

Leave a Reply

